Our Board

Mr Bruce Neill (Chairman)

Professor Alison Venn (Director)

Professor Alison Venn has been Menzies Director since January 2016. She is an internationally respected epidemiologist, with more than $30 million in research funding awarded over her career and more than 180 peer-reviewed journal articles published. She leads the Childhood Determinants of Adult Health Study,  is the Director of the Tasmanian Cancer Registry and the Tasmanian Data Linkage Unit and leads two NHRMC-funded partnerships with the Tasmanian Government.

Mr Brian Doyle AM

Brian Doyle is past Chairman and current Council member of the Menzies Foundation. He was formerly Legal Counsel and Secretary of the Australian Industry Development Corporation, Canberra. He practised for some years at the Victorian Bar and was later a partner in the Melbourne office of the national legal firm, Clayton Utz.

Professor Moira Clay

Professor Clay is a well-respected and experienced leader in research management, strategy and policy in Australia. Her background is in laboratory-based cardiovascular research. In 2000, she moved into research management and has 15 years of senior executive leadership experience in the health and medical research sector. She was the national Research Manager for the Heart Foundation for five years and subsequently occupied executive level research strategy roles in three of Australia's premier Medical Research Institutes (including 7 months as the Acting Director of the Telethon Kids Institute in 2012). She was President of two peak professional societies - the Australian Society for Medical Research (2003) and the Australasian Research Management Society (2012/13) - and a Board Member of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (2013). She was named a "High Achiever in Australian Health and Medical Research by the NHMRC in 2013.

Professor Denise Fassett

Professor Fassett is the Dean of the Faculty of Health at the University of Tasmania. She is a Registered Nurse with a PhD and was Head of Nursing and Midwifery from 2006 until 2011. Denise was appointed a Governing Council Member to the Tasmanian Health Organisation (THO) North from its inception in 2012. Denise has a background in health regulation and she was Chair of the Nursing Board of Tasmania from 2006 until July 2010. She was appointed a member of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia in 2009, a position she currently still holds. She was appointed Chair of the Advisory Committee for the Wicking Dementia, Research and Education Centre, in 2009.

Mr Bob Gozzi

After a successful period with Cadbury Schweppes, Bob was appointed as an inaugural Commissioner of the Tasmanian Industrial Commission, where he held a diverse range of industry and public sector portfolios, including speech pathologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, ambulance officers, teachers and vocational education. On returning to the private sector, he established Bob Gozzi Business Consulting. Bob is now leading market entry development activities for Blundstone Australia in SE Asia for the establishment of this iconic Tasmanian Brand in that region. Bob has a long involvement in the business affairs of Tasmania, having occupied positions as President of the Tasmanian Chamber of Industries, TCCI Board, and industry representation on various industry associations, forums and advisory bodies. He was on the Board and later Chairman of the Hutchins Foundation Ltd, the fund raising arm of The Hutchins School. He is currently Chairman Hobart Chamber of Commerce and a member of the TasTAFE Board.

Brigid Heywood

Professor Brigid Heywood

Professor Brigid Heywood (BSc) (PhD) is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at theUniversity of Tasmania. Professor Heywood has responsibility for the research and innovation strategy of the University, the University research institutes, research students, research infrastructure and commercialisation services. Prior to taking up this position, Professor Heywood was the Assistant Vice-Chancellor Research, Academic and Enterprise at Massey University in New Zealand, where she led the development and implementation of strategies, policies and standards that underpin its research and teaching effort. Preceding this position Professor Heywood held the office of Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Enterprise at England's Open University. Professor Heywood holds a BSc (Hons) in Biological Sciences from Manchester University (UK) and received her PhD from Liverpool University (UK) where she specialised in studies of biomineralisation. Her subsequent research career developed out of the discipline transition from applied biological sciences to materials chemistry. A trail blazer in many respects, she the first woman in the United Kingdom to hold an established Chair in Inorganic Chemistry - a notable achievement given her founding disciplinary background.

Professor Bob Williamson

Professor Williamson became Professor of Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry at St Mary's Hospital Medical School, University of London, in 1976, where he remained until 1995 when he moved to Melbourne as Director of the Murdoch Institute and Professor of Medical Genetics. He retired in October 2004 and now is an Honorary Senior Principal Fellow (Professor) of the Murdoch Institute, the University of Melbourne and Monash University. Bob has over 400 refereed career publications, including about 40 in Nature, Nature Genetics, Cell and Lancet. He was involved in the identification and cloning of genes for thalassaemia, cystic fibrosis, craniofacial abnormalities, heart disease and Alzheimer's disease. More recently he has taken a major interest in national science policy and medical and scientific ethics, and has advised several Premiers, Health Ministers and Ministers for Innovation. Although he has retired, he still works with a small research group trying to coax cord blood stem cells to help treat cystic fibrosis in children. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (where he is Secretary, Science Policy), a Fellow of the Royal Society, and an Officer of the Order of Australia.